Problem with supremum and infimum examples

• Thread starter thecaptain90
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Supremum
In summary, the conversation discusses solving for the supremum and infimum of sets A and B using sign diagrams and computation. The professor's solution for set A was A = (-∞, a) ∪ (b, c), with infA = -∞ and supA = c. The conversation also addresses a potential error in the professor's solution for set B, which should be B = {0, 2} instead of B = {0, 1}.
thecaptain90
So I've got a calculus test in a week, and I'm studying for it but I can't understand some examples our professor has given us. So, he says:

1) A = { x[itex]\in[/itex] ℝ: (x-a)(x-b)(x-c) < 0 } , a<b<c. Find the supA and infA.

In the solution of his example he says. It is easy to see that A = (-∞,a)[itex]\cup[/itex](b,c) so infA = -∞ and supA = c. How did he find that A = (-∞,a)[itex]\cup[/itex](b,c) ?

2) B = {1 +(-1)n:n[itex]\in[/itex] N}. Find the supB and infB.

In the solution he says. Obviously B={0,1} which we can compute if we make n=2k (even) and n=2k+1 (odd)
so infB=0 and supB=1. So if n=2k wouldn't B be 2? Is this a mistake my professor made?

Physics news on Phys.org
thecaptain90 said:
So I've got a calculus test in a week, and I'm studying for it but I can't understand some examples our professor has given us. So, he says:

1) A = { x[itex]\in[/itex] ℝ: (x-a)(x-b)(x-c) < 0 } , a<b<c. Find the supA and infA.

In the solution of his example he says. It is easy to see that A = (-∞,a)[itex]\cup[/itex](b,c) so infA = -∞ and supA = c. How did he find that A = (-∞,a)[itex]\cup[/itex](b,c) ?

The easiest way to solve this is by making a sign diagram (or whatever you call it).
Let me find out when (x-a)(x-b)<0.

If x<a, then x-a<0. If x>a, then x-a>0. If x<b, then x-b<0, If x>b, then x-b>0. So putting these in a diagram yields

------------------ a +++++++++++++++++++++++
-------------------------- b +++++++++++++++++

Multiplying the two gives us