Problems building a 1 bit / 2 to 1 Multiplexer

In summary: CMOS...transistors...)In summary, the newbie attempted to build a one bit multiplexer with transistors and resistors, but was not sure about the resistance values for a 9V battery and bread board. He asks for help, but does not provide any information of his own.
Avencherus
First let me just I'm a total newbie to electronics, but I would like to progressively learn how computers work by building the little components with the small parts, and then work up to the ICs once I understand how to make rudimentary versions.

I'm trying to make a 1-bit multiplexer out of transistors and resistors, maybe I need more components than that. I'm not 100% clear on the resistance values I need for a 9V battery and bread board either.

Was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers. I've attached a schematic I've come up with to try and implement those ANDs and NOT to create a 2 to 1 selector.

I'm suspecting that maybe the ground is just draining the circuit here, but my troubleshooting skills here are in their infancy as well. I don't know how to confirm it or what I have to do to make it behave in the intended way.

Thanks to anyone who has any pointers or resources.

Attachments

• multiplexer.jpg
    multiplexer.jpg
    12.5 KB · Views: 617
Engineering news on Phys.org
Avencherus said:
I've attached a schematic I've come up with to try and implement those ANDs and NOT to create a 2 to 1 selector.
Did you design the multiplexer on that level?
Do that first, then plug in the transistors and resistors later.

mfb said:
Did you design the multiplexer on that level?
Do that first, then plug in the transistors and resistors later.

Yeah, now I'm trying to actually build the physical thing out of the abstraction. I did go back and look at my drawings and I realized that I created that graphic wrong there above. Let me update that. I had an AND instead of an OR at the end.