Proof By Mathematical Induction

I didn't even think about that, I just assumed the person who posted knew what they were talking about.
erok81

Homework Statement

Use mathematical induction to prove the following statement.

[tex]n \geq 2,~ \sum_{k=1}^{n} \frac{1}{k^2}~<~1-\frac{1}{n}[/tex]

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

This is the third problem I've done of this type, so I am by no means an expert. So this attempt may be completely wrong. :redface:

Basis step:
Prove that P(2) is true. The examples in the text start with proving 1 first. Since this is for all n greater or equal to 2, I figured I would start at the lowest possible n. Except the sum starts at 1 - so I was a little unsure here.

[tex]\frac{1}{2^2}~<~1-\frac{1}{2}~\Rightarrow~ \frac{1}{4}<\frac{1}{2}[/tex]

This is true and therefore P(2) is true.

Induction step:
Assume that P(k) is true.
This is just a matter of replacing the n's and k's with k.

This yields:
[tex]\frac{1}{k^2}~<~1-\frac{1}{k}[/tex]

Next, prove that P(k+1) is true. Here obviously the k's are replaced by (k+1)'s.

[tex]\frac{1}{(k+1)^2}~<~1-\frac{1}{(k+1)}[/tex]

Since k comes before k+1 in the sum I tried this on the LHS...

[tex]\frac{1}{k^2}+\frac{1}{(k+1)^2}~<~1-\frac{1}{(k+1)}[/tex]

This didn't work. I tried combining the LHS into one fraction. Same on the RHS. But could see definite proof that the RHS was greater than the LHS.

What step am I missing? Is there a better way to prove this?

Physics news on Phys.org
Your induction step is wrong.

It should be:

Assume that [tex]\sum_{k=1}^{m} \frac{1}{k^2}~<~1-\frac{1}{m}[/tex] is true for m ≥ 2.

Show that [tex]\sum_{k=1}^{m+1} \frac{1}{k^2}~<~1-\frac{1}{m+1}[/tex] is true.

Huh. I'll give that a try.

In my text for similar examples they do the induction like I have.

The book's only summation example goes like this.

[tex] \sum_{j=0}^{n}ar^{j}~=~ \frac{ar^{n+1}-a}{r-1}[/tex]

They then show the k step as...

[tex] ar^{k}~=~ \frac{ar^{k+1}-a}{r-1}[/tex]