• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Proving d'Alembertian Invariant under Lorentz Transformations

• Thread starter timman_24
  • Start date
1. Homework Statement

Show that (D'Alembertian)^2 is invariant under Lorentz Transformation.

2. Homework Equations

The book (E/M Griffiths) describes the D'Alembertian as:

[tex]\square^2=\nabla^2-\frac{1}{c^2}\frac{\partial^2}{\partial t^2}[/tex]

3. The Attempt at a Solution

I don't really know what it is asking me to do here. Any guidance at where to even start would be very helpful. I am not very good at writing out proofs.

1. Homework Statement

2. Homework Equations

I don't really know what it is asking me to do here. Any guidance at where to even start would be very helpful. I am not very good at writing out proofs.
I could be wrong, but it seems that it's asking you to show how the operator manifests itself in the Minkowskian Metric (0,0,0,1); from there, i would assume that any ''rotations'' made in the Cartesian Product always remain invariant... but it's vague, so, i am not entirely sure.

Since the Operator maintains the four dimensions (t, x, y, z), basic rotations in such a ''spacetime'' are considered in special relativity as being invariant. For instance: Take the following Cartesian Distance System

[tex]s^2=(\Delta x*)+(\Delta y*)+(\Delta z*)+(\Delta t*)[/tex]

Here, the asterisks represent the ''rotations'' i spoke of to you, where the rotations are orientated from the original coordination:

[tex]s^2=(\Delta x)+(\Delta y)+(\Delta z)+(\Delta t)[/tex]