Publications on an undergraduate resume

In summary, the conversation discusses the question of whether or not to list a short paper on a CV for an undergraduate student. The supervisor mentions that conference papers are not typically included on a CV, but the student believes that all publications should count. There is also discussion on when to separate publications into their own section on a CV and if undergrad publications have an impact on industry employment. The conversation also touches on the difference between peer-reviewed journals and conference papers in the field of CS.
eliza_
Hi,

I saw a few posts similar to this one but I think my question is slightly different. I'm a second-year CS undergraduate who just coauthored a short paper (2 pages) to a conference that has an average-ish reputation; it's been accepted. I did a significant amount of work for this paper, so it's important to me personally, but my supervisor mentioned offhandedly (to a masters student) that it's not the kind of paper you would include on a CV, since it's a short paper and the papers usually get accepted. She's a Ph.D. student with many publications under her belt and she's getting ready to graduate soon.

Additionally, though, I'm now working towards a "real" paper on the same topic, which is on track to be submitted in a few months to a very well-known CS conference. So going by what my supervisor said, I should list this paper on my resume, and not the short paper.

As an undergrad, though, (in my opinion) every publication counts, and sooner is better than later when I'm looking for summer opportunities. So would it be odd/inappropriate/frowned upon for me to list that short paper on my resume?

Also, if I only have one or two publications, would I list these under a separate Publications heading or lumped with my research description in Work/Experience? At what point is it appropriate to separate them into their own section?