1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Question about entropy, particles

1. May 29, 2017 #1
    Hello, I am a curious layman, so I might have some misconceptions. I have been pondering some questions, and I was hoping someone might be able to either confirm, or explain this. What I am wondering, if I am understanding this correctly, is why atoms do not experience entropy? If this is true, why? The next thing I was wondering, is about the effect of observation on a particle. Is the particle and wave coexisting in two different dimensions as a wave and a particle, then when observed,is the particle and wave "switching" with each other? Regardless of the answer to the last question, is there an energetic change happening during the collapsing of the wave function happening upon observation? I thank you very much in advance for your time and thought.

2. jcsd
  3. May 29, 2017 #2

hilbert2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Entropy is a concept that is related to the statistical behavior of a very large number of atoms or molecules. Much like saying that the "average value of a given set of 1000 numbers is 25.714" doesn't really tell anything about any single number in that set, the concept of entropy is not useful when explaining the behavior of a single atom or molecule.

Quantum objects don't fundamentally change in nature when they are observed. When a position measurement is made for a particle, the standard deviation of the position probability distribution of the particle typically becomes much smaller than it was before the measurement, but it's still same kind of a quantum object.

4. May 29, 2017 #3