Question about the force of a falling object.

In summary, there is no easy way to calculate the weight of the shock load of arresting a fall. You must use an impact equation which is very complex to calculate. The shock load is increased exponentially the longer the fall is. If the time it takes you to stop is 0 seconds, the shock load is infinite. The best way to arrest a fall is to use a shock absorber.
PCruise
I'm a theatrical lighting designer wear a fall arrest harness while climbing in trussing.
I can't find a calculation method for determining the weight put on the anchor point in the event of a fall.

I weight 160 lbs. my lanyard is 6 feet long. It has no shock absorber so I would come to a very sudden and complete stop.

Is there a method of calculating the weight of the shock load of arresting my fall?

Thanks,
Cruise

Physics news on Phys.org
Sorry Cruise, I realized my first response was not an answer to the question you were asking. I said that the force that the ceiling anchor point puts on you is equal and opposite to the constant force of your weight. This is true, but only after you were hanging at rest.

Impact usually requires us to know how fast your change in velocity was, or how long it took you to come to a stop. Everything is actually a bit of a spring, elastic and soft.

FredGarvin said:
Impact equations are not an easy thing to figure out. The defining factor is how long does it take the object to come to a complete rest once it hits the stationary object. In theory you can treat it as a perfectly elastic collision and use momentum and go about your merry way. Real life does not involve perfectly elastic collisions. There is a finite, however usually quite large deceleration of the object when it hits the ground. It will all depend on how much of a distance the object is going to decelerate. The longer the distance, the less the deceleration and thus the less the force that is a result.