Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about time and measurement

1. Sep 27, 2013 #1
    Hi PF people,
    I am brand new to PF and this is my first post so please excuse and help correct any mistakes I make.
    My question is about time, the perception of time and the units we measure it in.
    I figured I would start this question with a statement because if my general understanding of this is wrong then this may be the problem to begin with.

So lets use two objects. One is travelling at high velocity and one slow. My understanding is that the object going slower will experience more units of time than the object going fast.

If this is true then my next question is do other planets (specifically in our solar system) experience the same passage of time?
    If not does this mean if another earth were duplicated and was traveling slower that these earth2 people would be many generations ahead of us?
    If so does this mean that they are all traveling at the same speed due to the gravity of our sun?
    Or that our solar system as a grouped unit is traveling at one speed?
    Or that our Galaxy has an inherent velocity?

If our sun was also moving would time slow down as we went in the opposite direction our sun was travelling during our elliptical orbit?
    And I would guess this would mean when we change velocity in any way we are leaving a time frame dimension or membrane or something?

Can someone actually just explain to me the whole time and speed thing?
    is time a byproduct of speed? or is speed a byproduct of time? do they both just have to exist the way they do for anything to move or BE at all?

im sorry for the annoying way these questions were laid out, this is my first post and I didnt even complete highschool.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 27, 2013 #2
    I just want to add.