Question on Penrose diagram for Schwazschild metric

In summary: This surface is a spacelike hypersurface.In summary, the singularity r=0 in the Schwarzschild spacetime is depicted as a horizontal line in the Penrose diagram because inside the event horizon, r becomes a timelike coordinate and the surface of the singularity becomes a timelike surface. The sign of g \left(\frac{\partial}{\partial r} , \frac{\partial}{\partial r} \right) in Schwarzschild with r outside the event horizon is negative, and it becomes positive inside the event horizon. Similarly, in Reissner-Nordstrom with r outside the event horizon, it is negative, but it becomes positive between the event horizon and the Cauchy horizon.
alphaone
Hi,
I am just learning about Penrose diagrams and got confused:
Why is the singularity r=0 in the Schwarzschild spacetime depicted by a horizontal line in the Penrose diagram? I thought a surface like r=0 would be timeike(as in the Reisner-Nordstrom case) rather than spacelike but obviously I must be missing something here.

Physics news on Phys.org
Inside the event horizon, what type of a coordinate is r?

George Jones said:
Inside the event horizon, what type of a coordinate is r?

What is the sign of

[tex]g \left(\frac{\partial}{\partial r} , \frac{\partial}{\partial r} \right)[/tex]

in:

Schwarzschild with [itex]r[/itex] outside the event horizon;

Schwarzschild with [itex]r[/itex] inside the event horizon;

Reissner-Nordstrom with [itex]r[/itex] outside the event horizon;

Reissner-Nordstrom with [itex]r[/itex] between the event horizon and the Cauchy horizon;

Reissner-Nordstrom with [itex]r[/itex] inside the Cauchy horizon.

HI, Thanks for the immediate reply and thanks for pointing that out to me!