Question regarding Higgs boson

In summary, the Higgs boson is strongly related to the Higgs mechanism, which is a result of having an ordinary multi-component Higgs field at high energies. The Nobel prizes awarded for breakthroughs related to the Higgs boson in 1979, 1999, and 2008 would still be valid even if the Higgs boson is not found, as the other discoveries are still significant. However, there are many models that achieve the Higgs mechanism without the Higgs boson, and some argue that other physicists, such as Cabibbo and Anderson, also deserve credit for the discovery. Ultimately, the Nobel Prize rules only allow for three recipients, so if and when the Higgs boson is
pmphysics
Hi to all,
I am an electrical engineer so my knowledge about "heavy" physics is somewhat limited.
I like reading about ( only superficially ) this "heavy" physics so I am puzzled about something and I need your help.

Is Higgs boson strongly related with Higgs mechanism?

We all know that Nobels are given for experimentally confirmed breakthroughs. If Higgs boson is not found what does that mean for Nobel prize in physics 1979, 1999, 2008.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
pmphysics said:
Hi to all,
I am an electrical engineer so my knowledge about "heavy" physics is somewhat limited.
I like reading about ( only superficially ) this "heavy" physics so I am puzzled about something and I need your help.

Is Higgs boson strongly related with Higgs mechanism?

We all know that Nobels are given for experimentally confirmed breakthroughs. If Higgs boson is not found what does that mean for Nobel prize in physics 1979, 1999, 2008.

Thanks