Quick calculus for introductory physics

In summary, the conversation discusses a high school student's plan to self-study for AP Physics C, despite having only basic knowledge of differential calculus. The student asks for recommendations for introductory study guides and is advised to focus on practicing problems in order to truly understand calculus and its applications in physics. The conversation also mentions the possibility of using a review book and taking practice tests to expedite the learning process.
omz222
I'm a high school student planning to self-studying for AP Physics C (introductory calculus-based physics), but so far I've only learned basic differential calculus. What kinds of introductory study guides (read: not textbooks) could quickly give me a working knowledge of the differential and integral calculus used in AP Physics C? Would Schaum's or Dummies work?

Physics news on Phys.org
work? It's entirely subjective. You should know by now which ways you'll study best. Personally, I can't think of how it would even be possible to learn calculus or solve physics problems without a textbook. Maths is learned through practice and physics is understood through problems - as far as I'm aware that's the easiest way to do it. To really understand calculus and have a 'working knowledge' you'll need to do plenty of problems. Knowing how integration works isn't the same as being able to use it.

and sorry, to return to the original point of your thread - I've seen Schaum's and can't say I've been too impressed by any of those books so I'm afraid I'm out of suggestions.

I do have a textbook, but my primary problem is time - so I don't intend the guides as a way to "learn" calculus thoroughly, but as a way to give me a basic knowledge of the math concepts that drive physics, so that I can get onto the physics right away.

are you taking the ap mechanics or electricity or both?

Get an AP review book and take the practice tests if your in a hurry.