Radiation Detection / Spectroscopy Project

In summary, the conversation is about a high school student who is interested in finding non-invasive methods for toxin detection. They have studied trigonometry and pre-calculus and hope to enter science competitions. They are looking for guidance and have heard about Raman Scattering as a potential method for toxin detection.
Sato
Hello,

I'm currently a sophomore in high school and am interested in working on something to find methods of completely non-invasive toxin detection which I don't see out right now. I've noted that this is done by interpreting the spectra of different materials which could contain the pathogens/toxins and have read multiple papers/articles on MRI/NMRS, NIRS, and general spectroscopy but am not sure how to continue. I have also finished self studying trigonometry and pre-calculus, and hope to get through univariate calculus and my AP Physics B textbook by the end of the break. I also hope to enter the Intel Science Talent Search and Siemens Competition. Is anyone able to lend some guidance/assistance?

Thank you,
Sato

Science news on Phys.org
Welcome to the Physics Forums! Good work pursuing education in your own time. Do you have a specific question?

I have heard of a type of scattering that is theoretically applicable for toxin detection. I think its called Raman Scattering since it is sensitive to molecular configuration.

Thank you, I'll take a look at that (after learning how to read Feynman diagrams, and reading seemingly prerequisite articles so I understand what the Raman Scattering article is even about).

It seems that the DHS has caught on to that.

Hello Sato,

It's great to see your interest in scientific research and your dedication to learning advanced mathematics and physics. Your project idea of using spectroscopy for non-invasive toxin detection is a relevant and important topic in the scientific community.