Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Radioactive Waste as a Power Source?

1. May 29, 2009 #1

Roo

Dear all,

When I was a nipper, my favourite TV show was 'Space 1999' - anyone remember that? Anyway, I think the main reason why I liked it (aside from Barbara Bain and Catherine Schell) was because a lot of the technology portrayed had a sense of realism to it, which in the 70's didn't seem an impossible feat for 30 years or so in the future.

One of the few things that has stayed in my mind from that TV show throughout the past 30 years or so is the power generation system - in that it was fed from radioactive waste deposited in large and sealed sub-surface housings away from the base. I'm not a nuclear engineer and only have a basic understanding of it, but my question to you is whether this is actually possible and could it in fact be realised as a potential source of power for an installation, space or otherwise?

Roo

2. jcsd
  3. May 29, 2009 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

More efficient to just reprocess the waste and use it in a regular reactor like other countries do.

4. May 29, 2009 #3

Morbius

Science Advisor

Roo,

Compared to using nuclear fission there is very little energy to be had from the decay energy of
    spent fuel or "nuclear waste". As soon as you shut a reactor down, the "decay power" of the
    waste is about 7% of what the reactor was outputting before it was shutdown - and the decay
    power falls off rapidly from there.

You need to supply a small amount of cooling to the cooling pools of nuclear power plants to
    dissipate the heat from the decay power of spent fuel - but it really isn't a viable energy source.

As mgb_phys points out; the best thing to do with the waste is to reprocess it, and recycle it back
    into a reactor so that more energy can be derived from nuclear fission.