Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Reading a file repeatedly in each iteration of a do loop in fortran

1. Jun 21, 2011 #1
    Hi everybody,
    I have just joined this forum and I have a problem in fortran programming. I want to do a program in fortran where in the do loop it will read an input file from the first line upto a line and again it will go to the starting line of the file in the next loop and read it. It will continue reading in this process upto certain no. of loops. But I don't undestand how can I do this. I have tried to use "rewind" statement but it did not work. So could anyone please tell what should I do. Thanks in advance. :confused:

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2011 #2

fluidistic

Gold Member

Hi.
    I'm no expert at all. Have you tried something like
    Code (Text):
    do j=1, m
      do i=1, n
        read(1,*)x(i)
      end do
    end do
    This code will read a file of n rows -thus up to n lines-, m times. If I misunderstood feel free to give more info about your code so that it might help more experienced people than me.

4. Jun 21, 2011 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

It appears to me that you want to read the data again from the same file, from its beginning.

If the 'rewind' statement doesn't reset the file to its beginning, it may be because your operating system doesn't allow that operation. Try closing the file, then opening it again. For example, if your file is attached to unit 10:

Code (Text):

close (unit=10)
          open (unit=10, file='filename.txt', ...)

5. Jun 22, 2011 #4
    Thanks fluidistic and jtbell for your reply. I tried both of yours advices but it did not work. I am attaching my program here below. Please have a look.

open(unit=2,file="input.dat")
    c = 0
    80 i = 0
    c = c + i*Nat
    do x = 1, 7+At(1)+c
    read(2,*)
    enddo !x
    ! do i = 1, Nband
    do j = 1, Nkp
    do l = 1,IONS