References for Building a Website

• Thread starter KonaGorrila
  • Start date
Aloha guys, just looking for advice on some of the better pathways, courses etc. to learn how to develop and build my own website for business purposes.
Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

What is your current knowledge/skills in web development?
If you are a total beginner, this is very helpful place to begin (based on my own experience):
https://www.w3schools.com/

You will find there many tutorials, examples, templates (usually free to use) etc...

There are a couple of popular website builders out there:
- google blogger
- squarespace
- wix
- etsy

In some cases, they provide the tools to run a business too ie credit card payment methods, product catalogs, client sign-on.

Wix has been pushing a lot of demo ads featuring celebrities that use their product where they show how easy it is to get started.

jtbell

Mentor
There are a couple of popular website builders out there:
- google blogger
- squarespace
- wix
- etsy
A potential problem with these is lack of portability. If your business grows and you later decide you want to move to a different website host or software platform for better performance or whatever, I don't think you can easily (if at all) export your information from one of these website builders. I think you would pretty much have to start over from scratch with a new site.

On the other hand, many website hosts can handle a Wordpress site, besides wordpress.com itself. My understanding is that even if you start on wordpress.com, you can export such a site to any other web host that supports Wordpress, possibly with some "gotchas" involving plugins. And many website hosts offer "one-click" installation of Wordpress from their control panel.