Removing frozen field from SQUID magnetometer MvsH data

In summary, the speaker has discovered a frozen field in the SQUID magnetometer before taking measurements and is wondering if it is allowed to multiply the applied field by a factor of 0.75 to get the expected data. They also mention using the SQUID in a feedback loop and caution against drawing conclusions from the data.
GPhys05032019
Hi,

I have measured a sample and realized there is a frozen field that remained in the SQUID magnetometer before the MvsH measurements were taken.

I am fairly new to using the SQUID, I have plotted the data and if I multiply the applied field by a factor of 0.75 the data matches what I expect.

Is this allowed? My thought process was that if there is an initial field while the SQUID is charging, this frozen field will also increase from the charging process, as the applied field does, so rather than it being an offset field, is it a factor change?

Thanks for any help

Physics news on Phys.org
That sounds a bit fishy.
A "frozen" field (that is, trapped flux) should for a "bare" SQUID just give you a field offset..
Now, you are probably using the SQUID in a feedback loop which makes things a bit more complicated; and I guess it is theoretically possible that the trapped flux would result in the magnetometer becoming less sensitive (i.e. a change by a constant factor). However, I would be very careful about drawing any conclusions from that data.

f95toli said:
That sounds a bit fishy.

I hope that pun was intended, because it was good! :)

Zz.

1. What is a SQUID magnetometer?

A SQUID (Superconducting Quantum Interference Device) magnetometer is a highly sensitive instrument used to measure very small magnetic fields. It works by detecting changes in the magnetic flux through a superconducting loop.

2. Why would a frozen field need to be removed from MvsH data?