Representation theory or algebraic topology

In summary, the official descriptions for the two courses that are available for next semester say that representation theory of Lie groups and Lie algebras is more essential to the academic goal, and that a course in Lie group/Lie algebra would be helpful.
Ivor Chen
Hello everyone, I'm a undergraduate at UC Berkeley. I'm doing theoretical physics but technically I'm a math major. I really want to study quantum gravity in the future. Now I have a problem of choosing courses. For next semester, I have only one spot available for either representation theory or algebraic topology. Both are graduate courses and I have substantial previous experiences on both subjects. I'm wondering which class is more essential to my academic goal. It's very sad that I cannot choose both at the same time due to scheduling problem. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
First, we will need to know the contents of the courses. In particular, does representation theory deal with finite groups, or with Lie groups/algebras or other? If it's representation theory of Lie groups/algebras then you will want this class for sure.

micromass said:
First, we will need to know the contents of the courses. In particular, does representation theory deal with finite groups, or with Lie groups/algebras or other? If it's representation theory of Lie groups/algebras then you will want this class for sure.