Riemann Integral Identification from Sum

In summary: You can see that the first will approach 1 as n goes to infinity, while the second will not. So I do not think that example works; the endpoints of the sum are not approaching the endpoints of the integral.To answer your question, yes, c_{i} must lie within the subinterval for it to be a Riemann sum. However, this does not necessarily mean that the sum and integral will not give the same value. As n gets larger, more terms will satisfy this condition and the remaining terms will become vanishingly small. So in the end,
Paul245
Hi There Everyone

I am studying undergraduate calculus in first year. My question regards the rules for identifying a limit sum as a Riemann sum and therefore a definite integral. The book we are using says that when choosing [tex] \inline \large c_{i} [/tex] for some [tex] f(x) [/tex], if [tex] \inline \large x_{i - 1} < c_{i} < x_{i} [/tex], then the sum is indeed a Riemann sum for [tex] f(x) [/tex] over an interval.

Allow me to include an example afterwhich I will pose my question in clarity.

========================

Express the limit [tex] \lim_{n \to \infty} \sum_{i=1}^{n} \frac{2}{n} \left( 1 + \frac{2i - 1}{n}\right)^{1/3} [/tex] as a definite integral

Solution:

We want to interpret the sum as a Riemann sum for [tex] f(x)=(1+x)^{1/3} [/tex]. The factor 2/n suggests that the interval of integration has length 2 and is partitioned into n equal subintervals, each of length 2/n. Let [tex] \inline \large c_{i} = (2i - 1)/n [/tex] for i = 1, 2, 3, ..., n. As [tex] n \to \infty, c_{1} = 1/n \to 0 [/tex] and [tex] c_{n} = (2n -1)n \to 2 [/tex]. Thus, the interval is [0, 2], and the points of the partition are [tex] x_{i} = 2i/n [/tex]. Observe that [tex] x_{i-1} = (2i-2)/n < c_{i} < 2i/n = x_{i}[/tex] for each i, so that the sum is indeed a Riemann sum for [tex] f(x) [/tex] over [0, 2]. Since f is continuous on that interval, it is integrable there, and