1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Rod attached to rotating vertical shaft

1. Nov 29, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

This is my first time posting on Physics Forums. I would appreciate your help with a question I'm doing in preparation for the CAP university prize exam in February. The following question is from the 1996 CAP exam.

Rod attached by frictionless pin to vertical rotating shaft. At what angle will rod hang in steady state? What will be the speed of the rod's center when angle has increased to 30 degrees (rod starts from rest)?

Please find attached a complete copy of the question and my attempt at its solution.
    I think My problem lies in the fact that I am using forces that perhaps are not present in such a system.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Please find a copy of my solution attached

!!Thanks for your help!!
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 30, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to PF;
    I cannot read docx files.
    Please summarize your reasoning.

This is basically a modification of the swing-ball problem.
    In an inertial frame, there are two forces only. They should add to give a net centripetal force.

4. Nov 30, 2013 #3
    the rotating axis is parallel to the y-axis
    rod is attached at it's end to the rotating vertical shaft by a pin.
    i say there's a force, n, acting on the rod. A force of n(cos(theta)) in the x direction and a force of n(sin(theta)) in the y direction. force of gravity is acting in the downward direction.
    i found angular velocity from rpm.