1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Rotation about a fixed Axis

1. Nov 7, 2006 #1
    Hi,

This is my first time posting on this site and I was wondering if someone could help me with this question:

A 200 g model rocket shown in Figure Ex13.24 generates 4.0 N of thrust. It spins in a horizontal circle at the end of a 100 g rigid rod. What is its angular acceleration? (I have attached the figure below).
    [​IMG]

Thanks.

Rage

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2006 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

You'll need to apply Newton's 2nd law for rotation. What's the torque exerted by the rocket? What's the rotational inertia of the system?

4. Nov 7, 2006 #3

OlderDan

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to the forum. What we do here is help people who have shown us their effort to solve a problem, not just solve problems for them. Show us what you think needs to be considered/done to solve this problem, and then we will help you with it.

5. Nov 7, 2006 #4
    Ok so basically I know that I'm supposed to use the formula: net torque = I*a. I also know that the torque will be r*F*sin(45). The problem I am having is figuring out whether I use the whole length(0.6m) for the radius, or the center of mass of the system? The other thing Im stuck on is calculating the moment of inertia. I made "I" equal to the total mass of the system (0.3kg) times the distance to the center of mass squared. Im not sure if this is right or do I have to, again , separate each object into its own radius (m1*r1^2 + m2*r2^2). Thanks.

6. Nov 7, 2006 #5

Doc Al

That radius vector represents the distance from the center to the point of application of the force, so what do you think?