Security clearance worth trying to keep for physics career?

In summary: However, if you can keep your clearance by finding a sponsor, it is possible to extend it for an additional 4 years.In summary, having a security clearance can be beneficial for physicists in the defense industry. It can help you get hired more easily and can give you an edge over other candidates.
sleepydreamer
hi,
I am currently a physics major undergraduate and i hold a security clearance from previous work. It expires in 2014 and I wanted to know if it was worth the hassel of trying to get it renewed? keeping in mind that i plan to pursue a phd in physics. getting it renewed won't be easy as i currently don't do any work that uses it. basically how useful is it in the physics world and should I worry about keeping it?

Physics news on Phys.org
Usually, I would say having one can only help you, but the last time I applied for one, I could've sworn there was a section about why I needed one. I don't think "just because it looks good" would suffice.

well i was going to try to keep it open by applying to an internship where it would be needed, think cia, nsa, fbi or something. Even though it woundnt be work i was necessarily interested in. that's why I wanted to know how valuable it is. lucking into an internship at one of those places isn't easy and i didnt want to waste time when i could be doing research.

The latest numbers I've seen (in the academic pyramid thread in this forum) suggest that more than 50% of physics phds are forced out of science (by lack of opportunity) immediately after the phd, and that within 5 years, more than 75% of physics phds are totally out of science.

In such a competitive environment, any edge is worth courting.