1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Seeking your advice on Preparation for Calculus Exam

1. Jan 11, 2015 #1
    Dear P.F. friends,

I am a college sophomore with double majors in microbiology & mathematics, and I am currently trying to prepare for the Calculus II credit examination (which is on next Wednesday) to get a credit for Calculus II in my college and take a linear algebra and multivariable calculus on upcoming semester.

Calculus II in my college covers the techniques of integration, sequence & series, taylor series, and brief vector geometry like dot products and vectors. Unfortunately, it has been a year since I took the Calculus I so quite many concepts are faded from my memory....Currently, I have a calculus textbook called "Calculus and Analytic Geometry" by George Simmons, "A First Course in Calculus" by Serge Lang, "Calculus Lifesaver" by Adrian B., and the past Calculus II exams written by pro

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2015 #2

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Calculus II Credit by Examination is a bad idea for you. Do the full Calculus 1 course, and follow this into the full Calculus 2 course. That advice is because you have not maintained your skills in Calculus 1, and maybe neither your algebra & Trigonometry.

4. Jan 11, 2015 #3
    So you have only a few days to learn all of calculus II when you took calculus I a year ago? I'm with the above poster, I don't recommend it. Calc II is difficult and I can't imagine learning it all by yourself within a week or so. Calculus I and calculus II are nothing alike in terms of difficulty, content, and learning methods.

5. Jan 11, 2015 #4

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member