Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Series for Elliptic Integral of the First Kind

1. Sep 3, 2016 #1
    I'm not sure if this should go in the homework forum or not, but here we go.

Hello all, I've been trying to find a series representation for the elliptic integral of the first kind. From some "research", the power series for the complete form (## \varphi=\frac{\pi}{2} ## or ## x=1 ##) seems to be (from the wiki page):

## \frac{\pi}{2}*\sum_{n=0}^\infty [\frac{(2n)!}{2^{2n}*(n!)^2}]^2 ## (eq 1) (I'll just say it now: I'm not that good with LaTeX, please excuse my mistakes).

This is what I have for the Jacobi form (I used the variable s instead of t):

## \int_{0}^1 \frac{ds}{[(1-k^2*s^2)(1-s^2)]^{1/2}} = \sum_{0}^\infty \frac{g^{(n)}(0)}{(2n+1)(n!)} ## (eq 2) where

## g^{(n)}(0)=1/4*(2n-1)(1+k^2)^2-1/2(2n-3)(n-1)(k^2)(1+k^2) ##. (eq 3)

I computed this by, first, letting ## s^2=t ## (don't worry; I took care of the differential; see (eq 4) below) in the Jacobi form. Then, I found the nth derivative of the integrand of the Jacobi form, except that I had the variable of integration to be linear instead of quadratic. I evaluated the nth derivative at 0 so that I could develop a Maclaurin series (I theoretically could have used some constant c, but for simplicity, I used c=0). So, we have

Jacobi form: ## \int_{0}^1 \frac{ds}{[(1-k^2*s^2)(1-s^2)]^{1/2}} ## which is equivalent to, for ##t=s^2 ## (see footnote 1)

## 1/2 \int_0^1 \frac{1}{t^{1/2}} \frac{dt}{(1-k^2t)(1-t)^{1/2})} ## (eq 4) sorry, don't know why there's a black box around the expressionMod note (Mark44): I fixed the LaTeX

Letting ## g(t)=[(1-k^2t)(1-t)]^{-1/2} ## (eq 5), we can show that

## g^{(n)}(0)=1/4*(2n-1)(1+k^2)^2-1/2(2n-3)(n-1)(k^2)(1+k^2)## (same as eq 3)

So, (eq 4) is the same as

## 1/2*\int_{0}^1 [\frac{1}{t^{1/2}}][\sum_{0}^\infty \frac{g^{(n)}(0)*t^n}{n!}] ## (eq 5).