1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Set Theory: Prove a function is injective

Tags:
  1. Aug 28, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hello,
    I need some help on the following. Im BRAND new to set theory and this was in my first HW assignment and Im not sure where to start.
    The question is as follows:

Let A and B be parts of a set E
    Let [tex]P(E)\rightarrow P(A) X P(B)[/tex] be defined by
    [tex]f(X)=(A\cap X,B\cap X)[/tex]

Show that f is injective if and only if [tex]A\cup B=E[/tex]
    Show that f is surjective if and only if [tex]A\cap B=\varnothing[/tex]

notation: P(A) denotes the set of all parts of A

2. Relevant equations

None

3. The attempt at a solution

I do not have anything in my notes that remotely resembles this. Any pointers on how I should get started? Remember: Im new to set theory.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 28, 2015 #2

Geofleur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

For starters, do you understand the terms in the problem and what it's asking for?

4. Aug 28, 2015 #3
    Well, I know the definition of injectivity and surjectivity. Does it say that the parts of E are mapping to ordered pairs (a,b) where a is in P(A) and b is in P(B)?
    Im not sure about "defined by" f(X)=(A intersect X, B intersect X)

So basically: no, I dont know the terms of the problem

5. Aug 28, 2015 #4

Geofleur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member