Should I buy Apostol's Calculus?

• Thread starter caltdel
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary, Apostol Volume I is a great book for a beginner, but it might be difficult without prior knowledge of proofs and calculus. Volume II is a bit more difficult, but still accessible.
caltdel
Hey all,

This is my first post on here, but I'm a long-time lurker :D

I'm looking to start learning Calculus(and Mathematics, in general) and was wondering if Apostol Volume ! is good for a beginner. I've been teaching myself Mathematics for about half a year now and I've mastered the Pre-Calculus(Robert Blitzer) and I'm currently studying Courant's What is Mathematics? to get a larger Idea of what exactly Math is before I dive into Calculus. I chose Apostol because it seems to give a more pure/proof-based approach to Calculus. It's my assumption that it's far easier to learn the applications after I learn the theory than vice versa. However, I've seen on different threads that Apostol may not be for the faint of heart and was wondering exactly how hard you think it would be for one with no knowledge of Calculus, but strong grounding in Pre-Calculus. Some suggest it would be best to study regular single variable Calculus (akin to that found on MIT OCW) before diving into Apostol, but is it entirely necessary or would it just make the process easier?

NB: Pre-Calculus brushed over proving statements via mathematical induction and spent the last chapter introduces Calculus(Finding Limits through tables and graphs, and by using the properties of limits, Continuity, and introduction to derivatives)

Thanks in advance for your help!

ctrl+alt+del

Likes Lucy
Physics news on Phys.org
Apostol is of course a great book. But reading Apostol without any knowledge of calculus is hard. Basically, you have to learn two things: formal mathematics and calculus. Neither is very easy.