1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I major in physics or engineering?

1. Jan 23, 2016 #1
    I'm a high school student, and I am not sure if I want to get a degree in engineering (electrical or aerospace) or physics? I would like to go to graduate school eventually and get a job in industry.
    My interests: I love everything about space, and I would love to work for a company like SpaceX or NASA to design and work with spacecraft. However, I am also interested in some physics-heavy fields. For instance, it would be awesome if I could work on a quantum computer, or even work at CERN and experiment with particle physics.
    I am wondering what a good path to follow would look like. So far, my options seem to be
    - Aerospace engineering bachelors and eventually masters
    - Electrical engineering bachelors and masters
    - Physics bachelors and then PhD (is that how it usually goes?)
    - I have also read about Applied Physics and that really interests me. However, with applied physics, what degrees do people normally get? Is it usually an undergrad followed by a masters or a phd?

With a physics or applied physics degree, could I still get jobs that are normally reserved for "engineers" by title?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 23, 2016 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

You're looking too far ahead. You need to focus on getting into a good college, one with strong physics and engineering programs, and to make your decision after a year or so - after you have taken both physics and engineering courses.

4. Jan 23, 2016 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

So to be blunt, you want to pursue science because it "sounds cool" to you.