1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I stick with Computer Eng or switch to CompSci?

1. Jan 17, 2015 #1
    I've been coding for several years and I've considered switching to computer science. I've made tons of money freelance coding, and I've made some really cool things in the past. Im currently a computer engineering major. Upon looking at every course offered at my Uni, I know all of them with the exception of a few:

-some higher level data structures & algorithms class (can take this as CpE, i already know the basics)
    -neural networks (not really useful for me)
    -compilers (CpE can take this)
    -more advanced combinatorics/probability

I've made a little chart outlining the pro's and benefits of switching/not switching. I can't decide but have to before the end of the week

Switch to CS:
    Pros:
    -easier, less work (4 courses per semester, and i will probably know most of them)
    -know nearly all of the content in the first 4 years, with the exception of the above
    -will be one of the top coders in the class/school
    -i enjoy the topics more, seeing as i code/do math in my spare time whenever possible
    -coding skills will improve
    -will be learning a lot of stuff i already know, tons of A+'s
    -i love theroetical math
    -i wont have to look forward to summers so that i can code/do math all day- i can do it all day forever

Cons:
    -will have to start all over again (finishing my first year in CpE)
    -wont be in the top engineering school in the country anymore
    -the CS department isn't best in the country (2nd best, but engineering is #1)
    -if i switch ill never be able to get into engineering again in my life; but i can always get into computer science later in life if i want