Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Single chart which covers entire [itex]S^1\times R[/itex] manifold

1. Jun 17, 2015 #1
    I am studying Carroll's notes on GR. He defines charts as maps from an open subset in manifold [itex]M[/itex] to open subset in [itex]R^n[/itex]. He then writes

"We therefore see the necessity of charts and atlases: many manifolds cannot be covered with a single coordinate system. (Although some can, even ones with nontrivial topology. Can you think of a single good coordinate system that covers the cylinder, S1 × R?)"

So when we have defined the chart as a map whose domain is an open subset in the manifold then how can a single chart cover the entire manifold? Or am I missing something?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2015 #2

Ibix

Science Advisor

A "subset" U of a set S can include everything in S - the only restriction is that it cannot contain anything that is not in S. A "strict subset" or "proper subset" must be entirely within S, but exclude at least one thing.

I gather that this convention is not universal - some people use subset in the sense of "strict subset" (i.e., as you were reading it). Carroll is apparently not one of them.

4. Jun 17, 2015 #3
    Thanks for clearing that up.

5. Jun 17, 2015 #4
    Also remember that in a topological space S, the whole of S is an open set, for any topology defined on it. A manifold M is a topological space, therefore M itself is an open set, for any manifold.

6. Jun 17, 2015 #5
    Ah, I was wondering about it. So how exactly do we define open set in the manifold? In [itex] R^n[/itex] (the set to which a chart maps the manifold elements) we make open set from the union of open balls (by the open ball I mean set of all the points [itex] y[/itex] in [itex] R^n[/itex] such that [itex] |x-y| < r[/itex] for some fixed [itex]x[/itex] in [itex] R^n[/itex]).

7. Jun 17, 2015 #6