1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Special Operations Officer transitioning out

1. Jan 21, 2017 #1
    Hey all,

I majored in Physics with a solid GPA as an undergrad and then I joined the Navy as an officer and spent all of my time in Special Operations with significant combat leadership experience. During my time in I also earned a masters in Physics from the Naval Postgraduate School where I did research/thesis concentrating in the nuclear realm of physics.

Needless to say, I've been in and out of academia over my career and am unclear of the opportunities for someone with a unique background such as myself.

Does anyone have any experience with someone with my background (both in research/degree and occupation)? Or any advice on the best field to transition in?

Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 21, 2017 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

I'm sure you've already thought of this, but perhaps working for a Defense Contractor on weapons systems? That would combine your knowledge of real-world experience with the science.

4. Jan 21, 2017 #3

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Your background - it's an 1140?

5. Jan 21, 2017 #4
    Thank you for the suggestion about Weapons. I was aiming for leadership opportunities in research too.

I'm an 1130. Any big difference between opportunities for EOD vs NSW?

6. Jan 21, 2017 #5
    I suppose one of the main points I'm trying to understand is: Will such a typical military background and education hinder me in pursing non-military physics research employment?

7. Jan 21, 2017 #6