MATLAB Spring mass impact system in Matlab - How to correct it?

Summary
A mass of constant velocity colliding on spring is modeled in simulink. Result expected was to be of sinusoidal displacement of spring. However result found was different.
I am new to Simulink and I wanted to start practicing using a spring mass damper system. My first tutorial was this:

Later, I wanted to model a spring system where a mass moving at a known velocity hits the spring. The governing equation and a similar modeling method given in the previous youtube link was also prepared:

Here is the Matlab Simulink model:

The result I expected was a sinusoidal displacement of the spring. However the result was totally different:

If someone can tell what exactly is my mistake and the correction, that will be of huge help. Thanks.

RPinPA

Science Advisor
Homework Helper
You're using an energy equation where all the terms are positive. It is not going to tell you the signs of ##x## or of ##v##.

To get the equation of motion, you want to use the fact that the force on the mass is related to the displacement ##F = -kx = m \frac {d^2x}{dt^2}## This force will change sign as ##x## changes sign, which will lead to the sinusoidal behavior.

RPinPA

Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Please update at some point and let me know if my observation actually led to success. It was just something that jumped out at me looking at your equation.

Thank you for your inputs, RPinPA. While I understand force based equation will give me sinusoidal displacement output (as mentioned in the youtube link in OP), I have two questions that I need a clarity:

1. Why will the energy based governing equation not give correct displacement values? It involves velocity (which is a derivative of position) too.