Starting freelance and contract work

• Thread starter jasc15
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Work
In summary: If you're self-employed or working on a project for someone else, you might want to make an appointment. Make sure to dress well and be on time. It's always a good idea to bring a portfolio with your latest work.
jasc15
Maybe I am still too young to say I am tired of working a regular 9-5 job, but i feel like its doing nothing for me. I am a mechanical engineer, and i would like to continue on that path, but working for a big company sucks. I was thinking of starting with CAD freelance because i can do that pretty well, and possibly continue with that when i start going back to school full time. If you work freelance, how did you get started and established??

Engineering news on Phys.org
jasc15 said:
Maybe I am still too young to say I am tired of working a regular 9-5 job, but i feel like its doing nothing for me. I am a mechanical engineer, and i would like to continue on that path, but working for a big company sucks. I was thinking of starting with CAD freelance because i can do that pretty well, and possibly continue with that when i start going back to school full time. If you work freelance, how did you get started and established??

I believe in order to contract or do freelance work you need a professional engineering license. Have you taken the FE exam?

I can't say anything from a professional engineering perspective. What I will say is that you have to do whatever you feel necessary to be content with your life. If that means freelancing, then by all means pursue it. Just be aware that there are a lot of hardships involved in that which you don't find in an employee position. Research a lot before committing yourself to any particular path.