Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Starting freelance and contract work

1. May 22, 2007 #1
    Maybe im still too young to say im tired of working a regular 9-5 job, but i feel like its doing nothing for me. I am a mechanical engineer, and i would like to continue on that path, but working for a big company sucks. I was thinking of starting with CAD freelance cuz i can do that pretty well, and possibly continue with that when i start going back to school full time. If you work freelance, how did you get started and established??

2. jcsd
  3. May 22, 2007 #2
    I believe in order to contract or do freelance work you need a professional engineering license. Have you taken the FE exam?

4. May 22, 2007 #3

Danger

Gold Member

I can't say anything from a professional engineering perspective. What I will say is that you have to do whatever you feel necessary to be content with your life. If that means freelancing, then by all means pursue it. Just be aware that there are a lot of hardships involved in that which you don't find in an employee position. Research a lot before committing yourself to any particular path.

5. May 23, 2007 #4

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

Freelancing is tough because the field is pretty competitive. There are a lot of companies that do that. The trick, from the people I have talked to, is to find a niche. One guy I know did that for a while just drawing aircraft wiring harnesses and diagrams for a bunch of people at a local airport. All I can say about getting started is that it definitely helps if you network. I would hit up all sorts of places including architectural firms. Just understand that there are a lot of different CAD platforms out there. You need to be proficient in all of them as well as have access to all of them to be really effective.

The good thing is to be a CAD jockey you don't need to have your PE.