State Space Control Theory Controllability/Observability

In summary, the conversation discusses a practice exam question about a system's controllability and observability based on its state space representation. It is determined that the system as a whole is neither controllable nor observable due to zeros in the B and C matrices. However, it is possible for parts of the system to be controllable or observable, which can be computed using the controllability and observability matrices.
ccmuggs13
I'm studying for an upcoming final and this is a question from a practice exam we were given. It looks simple but for some reason I just can't wrap my brain around it. The question is attached and gives a state space representation of a system (A, B, C matrices) and asks what part of the system is controllable, observable, both and neither. It is clear from the zeros in the B and C matrices that the system as a whole is neither controllable nor observable, but I am not entirely sure what it means as far as the "parts" of the system that are controllable or observable.

Attachments

• State Space.PNG
    State Space.PNG
    60.9 KB · Views: 552
ccmuggs13 said:
It is clear from the zeros in the B and C matrices that the system as a whole is neither controllable nor observable, but I am not entirely sure what it means as far as the "parts" of the system that are controllable or observable.
A system can be 100% controllable with some of the B matrix being zero.
the same can be said for a system with some of the C matrix being zero.

why don't you start by computing the controlability and observability matrices.

What is state space control theory?

State space control theory is a mathematical approach to modeling and controlling dynamic systems. It involves representing a system in terms of its state variables and using mathematical equations to describe how these variables change over time.

What is controllability in state space control theory?