1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Study Tips (For multiple conditions) -- Mech Engineer Studies

1. Jul 13, 2015 #1
    I'm currently a mechanical engineering student and many courses that I take involve topics that have multiple conditions. For instance if event "A" happens then apply Table "a" or Equation "aa". It becomes difficult to solve problems when topics have multiple conditions especially when similar topics cross link ideas because all the conditions become intertwined.

My questions is, are there any techniques that work for you that help "detangle" ideas of two or more similar topics having conditions?

I am currently reading about fatigue failure and would like to apply these techniques

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2015 #2

jack action

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Don't take Table "a" or Equation "aa" for granted. Answer the following questions: Where does it come from? How did someone came up with that table or equation in the first place? Once you will understand that, it will be a lot clearer what is the proper use for the table or equation.

Then build yourself some kind of flowcharts to solve problems. Building a computer program (or even a simple Excel worksheet) is a good way to make sure your flowchart works.

You will soon discover that a lot of subjects have very similar approach and logic.