1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Surface integral of a cylinder

1. Feb 2, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Evaluate the surface integral ∫A[itex]\bullet[/itex][itex]\hat{n}[/itex]dS where A = z[itex]\hat{x}[/itex]+x[itex]\hat{y}[/itex]+3y^2z[itex]\hat{z}[/itex] and S is the cylinder x^2+y^2=16 for the range of x[itex]\geq[/itex]0,y[itex]\geq[/itex]0, 0[itex]\leq[/itex]z[itex]\leq[/itex]5

2. Relevant equations
    I used this page as an example way to do this. I'm not good with surface integrals.

3. The attempt at a solution
    I know I did this wrong because my answer seems wrong but... following that page linked to above

[itex]\Phi[/itex](θ,t) = 4cos(θ)[itex]\hat{x}[/itex]+4sin(θ)[itex]\hat{y}[/itex]+t[itex]\hat{z}[/itex]

where 0[itex]\leq[/itex]θ[itex]\leq[/itex]2∏,0[itex]\leq[/itex]t[itex]\leq[/itex]5

[itex]\partial[/itex][itex]\Phi[/itex]/[itex]\partial[/itex]θ = -4sin(θ)[itex]\hat{x}[/itex]+4cos(θ)[itex]\hat{y}[/itex]

[itex]\partial[/itex][itex]\Phi[/itex]/[itex]\partial[/itex]t = [itex]\hat{z}[/itex]

normal vector is the cross product between those two derivatives which I found it equal to

4cos(θ)[itex]\hat{x}[/itex]+4sin(θ)[itex]\hat{y}[/itex]

setting up the integral
    (the integral on the left is from 0 to 5 and the second integral is from 0 to 2∏)

∫∫A([itex]\Phi[/itex](θ,t))[itex]\bullet[/itex](that cross product I got)dθdt

= ∫∫(t[itex]\hat{x}[/itex]+4cos(θ)[itex]\hat{y}[/itex]+3*16*(sin(θ))^2*t)[itex]\bullet[/itex](4cos(θ)[itex]\hat{x}[/itex]+4sin(θ)[itex]\hat{y}[/itex])dθdt

= ∫∫(4t*cos(θ)+16sin(θ)cos(θ))dθdt

=∫ (4t*sin(θ)-4cos(2θ))dt evaluated for 0 to 2π

and this is where I get zero.... where did I go wrong?

thanks!
    Hover

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 2, 2012 #2