Switching careers to software development

In summary: Congratulations!Ditto! Congratulations!In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges of transitioning from an academic career to a software development career due to the pandemic and offers advice and resources for those making the transition. The conversation also highlights the importance of understanding business context and the availability of job opportunities in different countries. The original poster also shares their success in finding a job as a developer through showcasing their projects on GitHub and LinkedIn.
diegzumillo
Hi all

In my country, and with the pandemic aggravating affairs, an academic career seems unlikely for me at the moment. It's what I have been preparing for, I finished my PhD and started looking into post doc positions nearby, but no luck so far. So people advised me to try becoming a software developer. I have programming skills, I have tinkered with machine learning, so it should be possible. But in practice things are a little harder. I have no prior experience working in the field, I know little of the terminology they use etc.

Anyone who made this transition, care to give me some advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
I didn't make the transition but am familiar with books on ML.

The best ones I've seen are:

- Hands-on Machine Learning with Scikit-Learn, Keras and Tensor Flow by Geron

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1492032646/?tag=pfamazon01-20

- 100 pg Machine Learning book by Burkov

https://www.amazon.com/dp/199957950X/?tag=pfamazon01-20

An honorable mention would be the Machine Learning Cookbook.

The most popular ML development language right now is Python although people do use Matlab, and Julia with code converted to Golang and Java for production level code.

I went physics -> actuarial -> data science. It has worked out very well for me.