1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Switching research groups without burning bridges?

1. Sep 5, 2012 #1
    I'm currently a third year undergraduate doing semiconductor research for about one semester and a summer and I absolutely hate it! My professor doesn't have that many grad students and his lab is severely under funded. I don't have my own mentor/grad student and I've been blindly doing a project. I asked for some guidance from my professor but he told me to figure it out or ask someone else. When I do come up an idea, he tells me it's wrong but won't tell me why it's wrong and it leaves me more confused and frustrated. I know I shouldn't take it to heart because professors don't give a crap about their undergrads, but I really don't like being left in the dark.

I really want to go to grad school (at least I want to go for a masters) and I want to get research experience. I just don't think this is the right research for me. I want to leave my group but I am afraid to burn bridges. I don't have that many professors to ask letters of rec. Are most undergrad research like this?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 5, 2012 #2
    A lot of research depends on "personal compatibility" and if it's just not working out with your professor, then the sooner you switch the better. One thing to consider is that if you are dissatisfied with your research group, then it's likely that the recommendation letter you are going to get isn't going to be that great anyway.

4. Sep 5, 2012 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor