1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Taking extra course to raise GPA

1. Aug 1, 2012 #1
    My GPA is 3.98 and I can raise it to 3.985 which is translatable to a 3.99 by taking an extra course. Is it a stupid idea to take it say for a better grad school application? (The benefit is it will raise my class rank)

I'm a mechanical engineering student looking to apply to a top5 graduate program. If you think I should take an extra course, what do you think will most useful, a core elective, a humanities course or a math course in terms of preparing me better for graduate studies? I'm more inclined towards advanced applied mathematics since it seems most useful for grad school.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 1, 2012 #2
    That's ridiculous. No.

4. Aug 1, 2012 #3
    Care to expand a little more?

5. Aug 1, 2012 #4
    Does it not sound ridiculous to you? There's no difference between a 3.98 and 3.99 GPA. When you apply to graduate school, do you think admission committees are going to care that you raised your GPA a very insignificant amount by taking unrelated courses? Take an extra course if it interests you. Don't take it to raise an already good GPA. You could be focusing on something useful such as research.

6. Aug 1, 2012 #5
    A little yes but here's the thing: The applied maths course in question interests me but It would be a lot of trouble to add it to the courses I'm already taking unless I had the GPA incentive. I did say however it would help me improve my class rank.

I can always say I wanted to use the extra applied math background I have for my research in grad school.

7. Aug 1, 2012 #6
    It can hurt you also if things don't workout as planned. I wouldn't take the risk.

8. Aug 1, 2012 #7