1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculus The Right Physics Textbook (math)

1. Mar 12, 2017 #1
    Hello. I have a bachelor's degree in both Applied Math, and Computer Science. But I would like to study physics on my own. I have flipped through the pages of a few phsyics textbooks, and I've noted that the math in these textbooks looks somewhat basic. I have not seen any double integrals, which I find odd.

I'd like to find a physics textbook that at least has some nested integrals, and that uses calculus to explain the derivation of all of the physical formulas. Is there any textbook that you recommend for this?
    The two that I've looked at and haven't seen any double integrals in are Walker's Fundamentals of Physics, and Physics for Science and Engineers by Tipler and Mosca, versions 8th and 6th, respectively.

Am I looking for the wrong things? I just assumed that physics was more... mathematical... and would have more complex integrals than what I'm seeing in these textbooks. I just want to make sure that I'm building up as best an understanding of this subject in a mathematical perspective as I can. If I'm looking for the wrong things, please correct me and let me know.

Otherwise, please recommend some good... "mathy" physics textbooks, with deep explanations of derivation.

Thanks!!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2017 #2
    There isn't a lot of need for double integrals when covering the basics in a typical three-semester introductory calculus based physics sequence.