1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The road to becoming a Theoretical Physicist

1. Jul 3, 2013 #1
    I am currently a high school student, I will be graduating next year and I know exactly what I want to do after that. I cannot see myself choosing a career other than physics as it is my passion and it has always been my dream to work as a theoretical physicist. I am now at the point where I am going to have to apply for an university. Ideally I would get accepted into a top US university, but I dont think that is going to happen as I have almost no extracurricular activities and I am purely depending on my academic success. Since I live in Canada, I will probably end up attending a Canadian university. I think I've narrowed my options down to UBC, UoT, and Waterloo(I can probably get accepted into any Canadian university considering my academic record). If I my ultimate goal is to get a Ph.D and attempt to make a living as a theoretical physicist, which one of these universities should I attend for my bachelor's? What are some possible advantages and disadvantages of each of these universities?

Last edited: Jul 3, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 4, 2013 #2