Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The specific heat capacity at constant volume for liquid isopropanol?

1. Jun 2, 2014 #1
    Hey

I am a physics student, and not so familiar with chemistry. I have a huge problem, because I have to find the following 3 values for liquid isopropanol:

1. The specific heat capacity at constant volume
    2. The specific heat capacity at constant pressure
    3. Volumetric Isobaric Expansion Coefficient

You should think it would be easy enough, but now I have used hours on the web whitout luck. I can only find the specific heat capacity at constant pressure here: http://webbook.nist.gov/cgi/cbook.cgi?ID=C67630&Mask=7#Thermo-Condensed

which gives results from 149 to 180 J/mol*K. Is there really so much uncertainty in obtaining these values? And how to find the rest of the values?

I really need help here

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 2, 2014 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

Have you tried to ask librarians for help?

4. Jun 2, 2014 #3
    You mean, going to the university library? Can you just do that, I mean they are not experts on chemistry?

5. Jun 2, 2014 #4

Borek

Try them. If there is a chemistry dept at your university, for sure some of the librarians are trained to help the chemistry staff, and they will probably know of databases you have never heard of. Even if there is no chemistry dept, chances are they will be able to guide you in the right direction.

6. Jun 2, 2014 #5
    Okay, I will try to find out. I have never been at the chemistry department. So there is no easy way to find these values???

I can see that some other guys, for different liquids, have used http://www.hbcpnetbase.com/. Unfortunately it is password protected...

7. Jun 2, 2014 #6

Borek

Which is another reason to try the library - your school may have access to databases behind the paywall.