1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Theory project for an inexperienced student- ideas?

1. Mar 27, 2014 #1
    (sorry if this is in the wrong section)

Hello, I am in my final year of school (UK) and will be starting university in September. Over the summer I am looking to do an internship/project at my local university for fun. I have a particular interest in the theoretical side of physics, though my understanding is extremely limited.

Do you know of any aspect of physics that would be suitable to work on as a short theory project for an inexperienced student who has not started university yet? I'm looking for something that's challenging (for a 17/18-year-old) but does not require a huge amount of knowledge at a very advanced level, and that would not be too much trouble for the physics department to host. Does such a thing exist?

I suspect the answer is no, and I would be better off looking for an experiment/ labwork type project, but I thought I should check anyway.

Thank you for any advice!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2014 #2
    Can you program?

Most theory projects you can do are going to be very computational because analytic work obviously wont be your strength at that level.

4. Mar 27, 2014 #3
    If you can program there are quite a lot of things you can do. If you can't there is still enough time to learn until summer.
    But you shouldn't disregard experiments just like this. I used to be the same, but understanding how something is measured is very important.

5. Mar 27, 2014 #4