1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Tips on transferring to UT Austin

1. Sep 29, 2012 #1
    Hello, I am a freshman physics major currently going to a local community college in Texas (Collin County). And I am planning on transferring to UT Austin next Fall semester. And I was wondering if any of you have some advice or know any requirements I may need in order to ensure I get accepted.

Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2012 #2

phyzguy

Science Advisor

By any chance were you in the top 10% of your high school class? If so, I think UT Austin must admit you by law. Google "Texas top 10% rule".

4. Sep 29, 2012 #3
    No, I didn't do phenomenally in high-school, that's why I waited to transfer so I could start fresh and such.

5. Sep 29, 2012 #4

MarneMath

Education Advisor

Simple, go to their transfer website and take the courses they require you have before you can transfer.

6. Sep 29, 2012 #5
    Oh, I should have specified that I've already figured all of the basic requirements for transfer and such. I'm looking mainly for advice on how to get their attention and priority over other applicants.

7. Sep 30, 2012 #6

MarneMath

Education Advisor

It's really not overly complicated. Do well in your course work, write a good essay, join a club or two, and receive letters of recs from your professors. If you get all that, then you're a solid candidate and then it's up to the admission Gods to decide. There's no way to ensure acceptance. I had a 3.1 high school GPA and got into UT, my buddy had a 3.6 (oddly enough not 10% at our school) and got rejected. How? Who knows.

8. Sep 30, 2012 #7