Computer Science Niche for Mathematically Inclined Student

In summary, two students are discussing the options for a mathematically inclined person in the computer science field. The first student is a sophomore at a community college planning to transfer to UT-Austin for a double major in Mathematics and Computer Science. The second student, also a senior double majoring in the same fields, explains that there are many options within theoretical computer science that involve heavy math, such as computational complexity, automata theory, and information theory. He also mentions fields like scientific computing and artificial intelligence that require extensive knowledge of probability and statistics. The second student advises the first to take courses in discrete math and theoretical computer science, and mentions that robotics also involves heavy math. The first student is interested in pursuing a Master's degree,
usem520
Howdy,

I am currently a Texas sophomore at community college. Attached in .DOC format is a list of the coursework I have completed by the end of this semester. I am planning to transfer to UT-Austin for the Spring 2012 semester with a double major in Mathematics and Computer Science.

I am posting here to ask for guidance as to where a mathematically inclined student might most comfortably land within the computer science field? I take into account both personal satisfaction and financial considerations, with regard to the former: the deeper the level of mathematics involved the better.

Thank you for your consideration.

Attachments

• Classes.doc
    26.5 KB · Views: 228
Physics news on Phys.org