1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

To study physics after B.Sc in electrical engineering

1. Jan 22, 2012 #1
    i am studying electrical engineering and doing my undergraduate thesis on solar cell device physics.......and looking forward to research on organic solar cell. For my graduate study, i am planning to study in the physics department of cambridge university (in cavendish laboratory) if i get the opportunity.

but, am i allowed for graduate study in cambridge (department of physics) after completing my B.Sc in electrical engineering?

and, what is the possibility of getting fund?.......i have two international conference papers on solar cell........will it be helpful for funding?

studying physics in other universities will also be o k for me.

please help me...........i need some suggestions.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 22, 2012 #2
    Why the Cavendish in particular? Why a physics department in particular? I think you're probably better off looking for funded MSc and PhD opportunities in solar cell physics *anywhere*. Heck with that your spec. you might end up in a biology department! I know someone who did an agriculture BSc and ended up doing a PhD in a physics department - it was an experimental post where field work was taken literally! (Firing x rays through crops to see how they grow...)

Don't focus on the name of the lab - it really doesn't matter at all - apart to snobs. And you don't want to be a snob do you?

Looking at: www.jobs.ac.uk, and searching for solar, I see a typical opportunity in a Chemistry department... "suitable for students with a good background in physical/theoretical chemistry, condensed matter physics or material science."

4. Jan 22, 2012 #3