1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Transferring to US to do PHD from UK Bsc Physics

1. Aug 13, 2014 #1
    Hi,everyone. I'm from asia, doing a BSC degree Theoretical physics in Imperial college London, currently finished my second year and got approximately 75% .. As an international student, I understand that very high academic achievement is needed to get any source of funding e.g. scholarship from any university institution in UK, for example, Imperial runs a programme which provides full funding for student apart from UK, however there are only 50 places over the whole college. Therefore, I 'm thinking of doing my Phd in USA, I wonder if anyone has similar background or experience before?

I haven't yet started preparing GRE general test and subject test, I'm facing a two-side dilemma , if I apply for USA phd , I risk losing my chance to do my Msc in UK since I 'm trying to apply the one which starts in Feb 2016, I'm graduating in June 2015, I imagine I will have to confirm my UK offer in Sep, and I would not have heard any result back from US university until then.What can I do?

Lastly,I would like to know how good do I need to be to secure funding from USA university? I'm applying for the top 50 US schools, and University California Berkeley is probably the level of university I'm going to, as I want to work in a strong research group with enthusiatic people. Thank you in advance, I saw many interesting dicussions going on in this forum , this is the first time of me Posting lol .

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 14, 2014 #2