1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Trying to derive the rotational acceleration.

1. Jul 26, 2007 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Ok I'm trying to derive [tex]a=v^2/r[/tex]

2. Relevant equations
    The Boas book gives me two equations to start off with:

[tex]r^2=\vec{r}*\vec{r}+constant[/tex]

and

[tex]v^2=\vec{v}*\vec{v}+constant[/tex]

3. The attempt at a solution

Where the hell did those equations come from. I know it gives me the right answer but I don't understand. I can actually do the rest of the derivation easily.

Thanks
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

As a grad student I am embarressed I don't know this.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 26, 2007 #2

robphy

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Can you more fully quote the Boas passage?

4. Jul 26, 2007 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

I'm no help on those equations, but can you see how to derive the centripital acceleration just from the nature of the circular motion, and using differentiation?

5. Jul 26, 2007 #4

VietDao29

Homework Helper

Are you sure it is [tex]r ^ 2 = \vec{r} . \vec{r} + \mbox{constant}[/tex]?

It doesn't seem true. =.="

We have:
    [tex]\vec{r} . \vec{r} = |\vec{r} | \times |\vec{r} | \times \cos ( \vec{r}, \vec{r}) = r ^ 2[/tex].

Well, so it's either the constant is 0, or there is no need to write constant here.

6. Jul 26, 2007 #5

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The question says to first expand the rght side of

[tex]\vec{a} = \vec{\omega} \times \left( \vec{\omega} \times \vec{r} \right),[/tex]

and then to assume that [itex]\vec{r}[/itex] is perpendicular to [itex]\vec{\omega}.[/itex]