1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Two blocks on top of each other

1. Sep 27, 2013 #1
    Hi guys, it's my first time posting here so please forgive me for anything wrong!

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A block of mass m = 0.570 kg rests on top of a block of mass M = 2.30 kg. A string
    attached to the block of mass M is pulled so that its tension is T = 6.20 N at a 20 degree angle to
    the horizontal. The blocks move together. The coefficient of static friction at
    the surface between the blocks is μs = 0.43; there is no friction at the surface between
    block M and the floor.

a) What is the direction of the frictional force being exerted on the top block of mass m?
    Justify your answer.

b) The tension T is now increased - what is the maximum tension, Tmax, with which the string can be pulled such that the blocks continue to move together (i.e. that the block of
    mass m does not start to slide on top of the block of mass M)?

2. Relevant equations

Fnet = ma
    Fsmax ≤ μFn

3. The attempt at a solution

a) (Just getting some clarifications on this one to see if I did it right.)
    I wrote that friction force should be directed to the left, since static friction (and kinetic friction) always opposes the direction of motion/acceleration.

b) So I'm just trying to draw FBDs for the two blocks and I'm getting confused just doing it. I can't even get the answer if I can't get the FBDs right, so please help me :(

FBDs:
    Top block (m):
    ƩFx: -Fs = ma
    ƩFy: Fn = mg

Bottom block (M):
    ƩFx: Tcos20 - Fs = Ma
    ƩFy: Fn + Tsin20 = Mg