Understanding the physics behind an elastic sphere

In summary, you are looking to create a sphere that can rotate in any direction while maintaining a flat surface and circular shape. You are looking to use liquid latex as a test material and balloons as a physical test to understand the relation between shape and internal pressure.
JordanLC
TL;DR Summary
Non engineer/scientist trying to gain an understanding of how internal pressure (from air, water, sand, etc) of an elastic sphere affects it's shape.
First off, I'm not a scientist or engineer and I apologize if I don't give a clear description of my question. I'm beginning a personal project and was hoping for some knowledge and assistance.
What I'm trying to achieve is to have a spherical object (it will be at least twice as wide as it is tall) that can maintain it's shape while also being able to rotate in any direction. If I were to put it on the ground, the top and bottom would be flattened into a circle and it's only a few inches tall, then for it to be moved along the ground, rotating in any direction while maintaining a flat surface and circular shape.
I began with a playground ball, to try and understand the relation of it's shape with it's internal pressure. Unfortunately the ball was too inelastic and as I let out air wouldn't flatten since the it couldn't stretch past it's diameter, if that makes sense.

So what kind of materials would I want to look at? I was thinking of using sand to fill it instead of air, so that if you were to step on it, it would retain its shape better.
How could I gain a better understanding of how the internal pressure will affect the shape?
Please ask me anything that could help me clarify what I mean for you.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Last edited:
Yes that certainly does, perhaps exactly what I was hoping to find, thank you!

As an update, I thought perhaps to try liquid latex, at the very least as a test material.

Likes hutchphd