1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Unsure 10th Grader what to do for the future.

1. Jan 16, 2012 #1
    Hello everyone, let me introduce myself: you may call me Jorge (or George, whichever you fancy) and this is my first time posting on here, but I have been lurking around for about 2 or 3 months. Obviously I am in the 10th grade and is very unsure of what to do for the future. I have always been interested in Physics ever since I was 5 (16 right now) and slowly changed my interest from astrophysics to quantum physics. As of right now, I have not taken Calculus, but will self teach myself Pre-Calculus (Pre-Calculus by Sullivan 8th edition) and Calculus (Calculus by Gilbert Strang, free pdf from MIT OCW) before the end of this spring semester. I am not worried if it might be rigorous because mathematics has always been my forte, by far.

Currently, I am enrolled in an Early College High School - meaning I get to take normal high school classes in my Freshman and Sophomore year and be enrolled as a full-time university student my Junior and Senior year. My local university happens to have a pretty good physics program; in fact, the ARICEBO radio telescope in Puerto Rico can be remotely controlled from there by students. Not sure if this is pretty common among universities or this is a blessing.