Using MATLAB outside of the lab

In summary, the two options you have are to either sign up for a 1 month free trial of MatLab, or to use the service provided by your university that offers MatLab for free for an indefinite amount of time. Neither option is necessarily better than the other, but the free trial is slightly skeptical and the service might be slow for a lot of people.
starstruck_
This is a pretty dumb question, but I honestly just need some advice as to which option to go for.

I'm in first year and one of my courses this term is computer science where we will be using matlab.
Matlab isn't free- I know that, but my professor said we have two options available for us to use MATLAB for free outside of our lab:

1) sign up for the free trial

This is great and all, but it asks for your postal code and phone number so I'm kind of skeptical and it only lasts 1 month.

2) a service my university offers where we can use MATLAB through some server for free

I REALLY don't want to go down this route.
I can use it for however long I need to, however, if a lot of people are on using that service at the same time, it will be really slow, and it asks for access to your microphone, camera, internet ports, processor threads etc so uh I'm not sure if this is a great idea.

I need help deciding what option to go for.
Another thing I can do is use the labs at school when they're free but uh that's about it.
I don't think I have any options besides those so just need some input of what option you think would be the safest/ work out the best.
What would you suggest?
Also, is it safe to put in my postal code/phone number for the trial?

Physics news on Phys.org
starstruck_ said:
1) sign up for the free trial

This is great and all, but it asks for your postal code and phone number so I'm kind of skeptical and it only lasts 1 month.